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____________________________________________________________________________________ 

On Tuesday, October 6, 2015, Chief Justice John Roberts of the United States Supreme Court denied an 

application that would have stayed implementation of the US Department of Labor’s Home Care Final 

Rule. The rule applies minimum wage and overtime protections to domestic service workers. 

 

Additionally, on December 9, 2015, the Ohio General Assembly clarified in law that an independent 

provider who provides services to an individual on Medicaid is not a public employee. 

 

The purpose of this memo is to share information about how the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) will 

make overtime payments to eligible independent providers who bill for more than 40 hours or 160 

fifteen-minute units in a work week for dates of service beginning January 1, 2016.  This memo does 

not apply to consumer-directed service providers delivering Choices Home Care Attendant or 

Consumer-Directed Personal Care services in PASSPORT. 

 

How is “work week” defined? 

A work week begins Sunday at 12:00 a.m. and ends Saturday at 11:59 p.m. 

 

What hours or units of service are to be included when determining whether an independent 

provider exceeded 40 hours or 160 fifteen-minute units of service in a work week? 

• Time spent delivering services as an independent provider under waiver programs administered 

by the Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM), ODA, and the Ohio Department of Developmental 

Disabilities (DODD), as well as time spent delivering Private Duty Nursing (PDN) as an 

independent provider should be included. 

• Claims submitted to a managed care plan for services provided to an individual enrolled in a 

managed care plan are NOT included in the overtime calculation. 

• Independent providers are responsible for identifying the time at which 40 hours or 160 fifteen-

minute units of service were exceeded and submitting overtime claims for the appropriate 

services. 

 

Examples: 

• A provider works Monday – Friday 3:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (30 hours) delivering Personal Care 

services to a person enrolled in the PASSPORT Waiver.   

• The provider works the following Saturday from 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. (12 hours) delivering 

Personal Care Aide services to a person enrolled in the Ohio Home Care Waiver. 
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• The provider submits claims for 30 hours of regular Personal Care for the person enrolled in the 

PASSPORT Waiver (T1019UA), 10 hours of regular Personal Care Aid for the person enrolled in the Ohio 

Home Care Waiver (T1019), and 2 hours of overtime for the person enrolled in the Ohio Home Care 

Waiver (T1019 with the TU modifier in accordance with ODM’s overtime policy found here: - 

http://medicaid.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Providers/ip-update-2015-12-10.pdf). 

 

What should independent providers do if working more than 40 hours (160 fifteen-minute units) in a 

work week? 

• Maintain a schedule of hours worked each week.  Include the types of services provided and 

the names of individuals served. 

• Submit claims, as usual, for the first 40 hours or 160 fifteen-minute units worked. 

• For all units of service provided after the first 40 hours, use the TU modifier if billing under 

waiver programs administered by ODM and DODD, as well as time spent delivering PDN.   

• For all units of service provided after the first 40 hours in the PASSPORT Waiver, submit claims 

using new billing codes (see below).  

 

Do independent providers have to submit claims differently to be paid overtime? 

Yes. For Waiver Nurses and Home Care Attendant service providers in PASSPORT, independent 

providers will need to submit claims using the following new billing codes for overtime: 

 

• For Home Care Attendant services under the PASSPORT Waiver use billing code: S5125OT for 

Home Care Attendant Nursing and S5125U8OT for Home Care Attendant Personal Care. 

• For Waiver Nursing under the PASSPORT Waiver use billing code: T1003OT if billing as an LPN or 

T1002OT if billing as an RN. 

 

How will independent providers know what overtime code to use? 

Independent providers must use the code that relates to the waiver service being delivered at the time 

they exceed 40 hours (160 fifteen-minute units) in a work week.  

 

Examples:   

• An RN works with an individual enrolled in the PASSPORT Waiver.  She delivers 40 hours of 

PASSPORT waiver nursing services and then works an 8-hour PDN shift during the same work 

week.  The provider will use the regular T1002RN or T1003LPN as appropriate for the first 40 

hours, then use the T1000 code with the TU modifier (per guidance from ODM for billing 

overtime in PDN services - http://medicaid.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Providers/ip-update-2015-12-

10.pdf) for the 8 hour PDN shift. 

• A provider delivers 42 hours of Home Care Attendant Personal Care services in a work week to 

an individual enrolled in the PASSPORT Waiver.  The provider will use the regular S5125U8 

procedure code for the first 40 hours.  For the remaining 8 units of service, the provider will bill 

using S5125U8OT to claim overtime reimbursement. 
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How are overtime rates calculated? 

Waiver rates are made up of several components including a wage component, employee-related 

expenses (payroll taxes, worker's compensation, health care, retirement, and paid time off), 

productivity (travel, training, and documentation) and administration.  Overtime rates will be 

calculated based on the wage component of the rate. 

 

What amount of reimbursement will independent providers receive for overtime claims? 

As with all waiver services, providers are reimbursed at either their usual and customary rate for the 

service, which is entered in the billed amount field at the time claims are submitted by the provider, or 

the Medicaid maximum reimbursement rate for the service that is established in the Ohio 

Administrative Code (OAC), whichever is lower. The following are the Medicaid maximum 

reimbursement rates for overtime claims: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How do independent providers who serve multiple people during a single visit submit overtime 

claims? 

 

When delivering more than 160 fifteen-minute units of service, independent providers must submit 

the appropriate overtime billing code to be reimbursed at the overtime rate when services are 

provided to a group as defined in OAC rules governing service delivery. 

• The group visit overtime billing code for PASSPORT Home Care Attendant Nursing services is 

S5125OTHQ. 

• The group visit overtime billing code for PASSPORT Home Care Attendant Personal Care 

services is S5125UOHQ. 

• The group visit overtime billing code for PASSPORT Waiver Nursing services is T1002OTHQ if 

billing as an RN. 

 

 

WAIVER NURSING – RN ( T1002OT) 

Independent Providers 

Base Rate 15-Minute unit Rate 

$50.43 $9.92 

 

WAIVER NURSING – LPN ( T1003OT) 

Independent Providers 

Base Rate 15-Minute unit Rate 

$40.89 $7.88 

 

 

HOME CARE ATTENDANT PERSONAL CARE (S5125U8OT) 

Independent Providers 

HCA/PC  

15-Minute unit Rate 

$3.95 

HOME CARE ATTENDANT NURSING (S5125OT) 

Independent Providers 

HCA/N  

Base Rate 

HCA/N  

15-Minute unit Rate 

$33.09 $6.22 
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• The group visit overtime billing code for PASSPORT Waiver Nursing services is T1003OTHQ  if 

billing as an LPN. 

 

What if an independent provider forgets to submit the overtime billing code and only submits the 

regular billing code? 

The provider will be reimbursed at the regular, non-overtime rate.  However, the provider may adjust 

the claim in order to receive the appropriate overtime payment.  All adjustments to claims must be 

submitted in accordance with requirements established by ODA and the PASSPORT Administrative 

Agencies (PAAs). 

 

What if an independent provider accidentally submits a claim using an overtime billing code when 

the provider did not deliver more than 40 hours or 160 fifteen-minute units of service in a work 

week? 

The provider must adjust and resubmit the claim with the appropriate billing code. 

 

Will overtime payments be authorized? 

Case Managers will continue to work with individuals and their teams in the development of service 

plans that meet individual’s needs taking in to consideration availability of providers.  Through this 

process an authorization of overtime could occur.  

 

How will overtime claims be monitored? 

Both ODM and ODA will run reports to track overtime payments made to individual providers, as well 

as to monitor the financial impact of overtime claims. Those who submit claims for overtime when 

more than 40 hours or 160 fifteen-minute units of service were not delivered may be subject to audits 

and/or investigation. 

 

Will services have to be reduced to accommodate the payment of overtime claims to prevent 

someone from exceeding their cost cap?  

No. Services will not be reduced as a result of overtime payments and overtime payments WILL NOT 

count against individuals’ cost caps.  

 

How will overtime claims be paid in consumer-directed services? 

ODA, through the State’s financial management service Morning Star, already has a way to pay Choices 

Home Care Attendant and Consumer-Directed Personal Care providers for overtime hours worked.  

ODA will communicate separately with consumer-directed providers to address questions about 

payment for overtime through Morning Star. 

 

Please contact your local PASSPORT Administrative Agency with questions about billing.  Locate your 

PAA at: http://aging.ohio.gov/services/passport/passportadministrativeagencies.aspx. 

 

 

Thank you. 


